Herb Kohl Educational Foundation award recipients

The Wauwatosa School District is pleased to announce that two students and one teacher have been named as 2024 recipients of Herb Kohl Educational Foundation scholarships and the teacher fellow award.

Margaret "Daisy" Lehman of Wauwatosa West High School is honored as a recipient of the Student Excellence Scholarship, while Andrew Bruce of the Wauwatosa Virtual Academy receives the Student Initiative Scholarship. Additionally, Mrs. Lauren Roznowski Hayden of Longfellow Middle School has been awarded the Teacher Fellowship award.

"Herb Kohl's legacy of commitment to education continues to inspire us all,” said Dr. Demond Means, Superintendent of Wauwatosa School District. “These scholarships and awards not only recognize the exceptional achievements of our students and educators, but also highlight the importance of supporting and nurturing excellence in education. We sincerely congratulate Daisy, Andrew, and Mrs. Roznowski Hayden on their well-deserved recognitions."

The Herb Kohl Educational Foundation selected 304 Wisconsin students, teachers, and administrators for its 2024 awards. 187 graduating high school students, including Lehman and Bruce, will each receive $10,000 Student Excellence and Initiative Scholarships. The awards recognize academic achievement, initiative, and community leadership.

Roznowski Hayden is one of 100 teachers statewide to receive the $6,000 Teacher Fellowship award, acknowledging her leadership and commitment to inspiring learning.

The selection process for these awards involves a committee of civic leaders and representatives from education-related associations and sponsors, including the Wisconsin Newspaper Association Foundation, the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, regional Cooperative Educational Service Agencies (CESA), the Association of Wisconsin School Administrators, and the Wisconsin Homeschooling Parents Association.

The Kohl Foundation award program was established by Herb Kohl, former U.S. senator, philanthropist, and businessman who died December 27, 2023. Since 1990, the foundation has awarded nearly $38 million to Wisconsin educators, principals, students, and schools.

To view the full list of 2024 award recipients, visit https://bit.ly/43nMrzI. For more information about the Herb Kohl Educational Foundation, please visit https://www.kohleducation.org/.