National Merit Scholarship Finalists

Two students from Wauwatosa West High School, Ian Fleuchaus and Mara Holzen, have been named finalists in the 2024 National Merit® Scholarship Program.

Fleuchaus and Holzen are part of a select group of 15,000 finalists who have fulfilled academic and other criteria following their earlier recognition as semifinalists in the competition. Both students will be presented with Certificates of Merit acknowledging their achievement in the program. National Merit Scholarship recipients will be selected from this pool of finalists based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments.

"We are thrilled to congratulate Ian and Mara for their accomplishment in advancing to the finalist stage of the National Merit Scholarship Program," said Dr. Demond Means, Superintendent of the Wauwatosa School District. "Becoming a finalist in this highly competitive program is an exceptional honor, highlighting their dedication to academic excellence. We anticipate great success for both Ian and Mara as they proceed in this competition and into their post-high school endeavors."

Beginning in March 2024, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) will notify recipients of three categories of National Merit Scholarships: National Merit $2500 Scholarships, Corporate-sponsored scholarships, and College-sponsored scholarships. Subsequently, in the months of April through July, NMSC will release the names of Merit Scholar designees to the media for public announcement. Additionally, in March 2025, approximately 740 finalists will be notified of Special Scholarships awarded by corporate sponsors.

Established in 1955, the NMSC is a nonprofit organization dedicated to administering the annual National Merit Scholarship Program. Scholarships are funded by the NMSC itself, as well as approximately 320 business organizations and higher education institutions that share the NMSC's goals of honoring the nation's scholastic champions and encouraging the pursuit of academic excellence.

To learn more about the National Merit Scholarship Program, please visit